Rainy Day Women #1

umbrella-1020

Warning – many rainy day shots coming up.  Today is second day, and it was cold, miserable – and excellent shooting weather.  I believe there’s one more day of deluge.  And already I have four or five good images from mother natures amusement ride.  I say that because the wind on the avenues must have been around 60 m.p.h.  I was hoping to get a shot with maybe 8 umbrellas all blowing apart at the same time.  I think I have one with 5 going at the same time.  For me – this is great fun, and what will always get me out of my laboratory.

umbrella-1023

My greatest dream of all, is to have a tornado moving slowly down fifth avenue.  Maybe it touches down around 59th street, and skips around until it gets to Grand Central Station.  I was sent home from school in – maybe the second grade – and still remember how much fun it was holding on from one Bronx lamp post to the next so as not to get blown away.  When I think back on it – it’s funny that parents weren’t called to come and get us.  They just let us out and we somehow managed (most of us) to make it back home.

I may do this in sequence – first one umbrella, then two etc.

Near subway entrance, 3rd / 86th

umbrella-1069
umbrella-1064

Sorry – don’t know why I decided to do this one in sepia. Just works for me.

I have a few more that I like… Last time I put up a post with images of the day was when the Pope was in town.  The current pope.  Rain and the pope.  What do they have in common.

Published by

Dave

My name is Dave Beckerman. I am a photographer and programmer working in New York City.

4 thoughts on “Rainy Day Women #1”

  1. I was crossing the street earlier today when my umbrella decided to take me for a ride and all I could think was I wonder if anyone is photographing this. Yes, I agree Dave rainy days in NYC can be a lot of fun, especially windy ones.

  2. I bet only the alter cockers (Yiddish for old farts) get the allusion to Dylan in the title of this entry. By the way, Aqueduct was closed due to the hurricane-like storm yesterday, so it’s good we didn’t go there to take photos.

Comments are closed.