Big Dreams

big-dream-0830When I was a kid – all this stuff was strictly against the law.  Now the state takes it over and the money is used for good purposes.  You can tell because the city schools are overflowing with money and class sizes have gotten smaller.  The idea of the state taxing and promoting what was once sinful, is worse than when it was a private enterprise, as it still is in a few states.  In other words, if you tax so-called sinful activities, then you make us all into bookies.  We are all living off the addictions of others.  That just doesn’t seem right.

What was the phrase that was big in the early years, no taxation without representation?  I don’t remember voting for taxing cigarettes, or having the state sponsored lottery.  Maybe I was drunk that day.

Published by

Dave

My name is Dave Beckerman. I am a photographer and programmer working in New York City.

3 thoughts on “Big Dreams”

  1. The big push in NY now is an obesity tax on non-diet soda. That’s why I started my new web business, Lester’s Jersey Spring Seltzer Water.

    I use fresh from the tap Jersey spring water and add a tablet of citric flavor and sodium bicarbonate for the fizz. I also have a heart healthy version into which I drop an aspirin. The patent for this is pending, as Alka Selzter may sue to halt my sales.

    I plan to market it as an IBO, asking independent business owners to purchase my product in bulk at reduced rates and then sell it on the internet to their friends and relatives. I’m offering subscribers to Dave’s blog a free one-month’s supply to get into this growing business at the basement level.

    So do an end-around on the soda police and make a few bucks on the side with Lester’s Jersey Spring Seltzer Water. (The container is completely biodegradable.)

  2. I don’t know if it’s still around but you could buy new York tap water in a bottle with no fizz or extras.

    It is as pure or purer than maany better known brands.

    If you read the ingrediants in Poland Springs water, you’ll see that it is a combination of several waters and Poland Springs is last on the list.

    However you would do better to sell Jersey water as HEAVY WATER. There is a large market for this in labs. And it would be closer to the true nature of the stuff.

    Remember to put a skull and crossbones as the logo.

  3. I think you’re on to something here, Dave. Deuterium (heavy water) is in great demand in up and coming nuclear nations, such as Iran. I could bottle it as Eau d’Ahmadinejad or Mullah’s Miracle Tonic and market it as a way to prevent prostate cancer as well as control nuclear fission reactions. I’ll need more start up capital, though. Since the water is heavy, the shipping costs will be greater.

Comments are closed.