Keepin' Up With Weber

What follows is an example of how the Photobloggers Society can pull posts from another photoblogger and have them appear in your photoblog. In this case, it is the worst scenario in that Matt Weber’s pictures are huge! But still, nothing that terrible happens. Code can also be supplied so that you just see links and text and the images aren’t there, but that sort of ruins the effect.

For more on the Photobloggers Society read this post: http://www.beckermanphoto.com/blog/apply-for-your-photoblog-day

I could pick other sites to do as well except that the ones I know are doing well (which is how I know them).

Subscribe to RSS headline updates from:
Powered by FeedBurner

Published by

Dave

My name is Dave Beckerman. I am a photographer and programmer working in New York City.

20 thoughts on “Keepin' Up With Weber”

  1. I’m blown away that you took this much time to try and help my new site get a boost! Another thing which I hope some tech person is working on, would be a program that takes a scan of an image and then combs the entire internet to see where it shows up. Sort of a digital detective, that will let people see if their images have been stolen and are being used elsewhere without their permission. Sounds feasible to me, although I don’t know if it’s something worth inventing…

  2. hey Dave,

    good ideas about the coalition. Worth noting that new tools, in addition to creating all this new possibility have made the internecine warfare amongst photogs, (the absolute failure to help one another) even bloodier. Throw on the hard financial times, it is not pretty. I’ve seen grown photographers cry, recently. Didn’t see that 20 years ago.
    You lead, I’ll follow.

    Bill

    pps-still no left margin, in the main post-text

  3. Dave – Great ideas … I would support such an organization and site.

    I think you need to pat yourself on the back for figuring out the SEO stuff and bringing up your ranking. I appreciate you sharing your insight in these matters.

    Matt – check out:

    http://www.tineye.com/

    This is reverse image search engine which is free at the moment.

    There are also paid services but you must watermark your images digitally.

    https://www.digimarc.com/solutions/images/

    Also worth a look if you find your images being used without permission:

    http://www.naturescapes.net/docs/index.php/articles/314

  4. Hi Dave
    Photographers and the web should be a match made in heaven, considering that other outlets (galleries, shops, fairs etc) have inbuilt limitations and eat into profit margins so effectively. I’m at the start point of getting my work out for sale, and am already in the throes of a site redesign. Sigh. In the time it’s taken me to get my act together my website looks tired and old. Web marketing is neither simple, nor easy, but I have a belief that if I get it right it can really work. So yes, any gathering of minds sharing information for the common cause is great.
    I’ve been watching your outsourcing and product shop forays with great interest, not least because all the interesting possibilities seem to exist on your side of the Atlantic but not over here in the UK. The corporate world is all abuzz with chatter of ‘cloud computing’ and yet photographers are already using this strategy to create a presence and deliver products. I really value your insights and most of all, your openness about what you attempt.

    Matt – what you describe does exist, albeit in beta. It’s called Tin Eye (www.tineye.com) and there’s even a handy Firefox plug in. Again, it’s one of those things that relies on images being indexed, but as it gathers pace it can only become more effective.

    Lou

  5. I’d join this organization in a heartbeat. As a member of the Writer’s Guild, it is indeed interesting to watch writers band together while photographers toil alone. Interesting especially because if there ever were a group of self-absorbed anti-social xenophobes, writers would surely lead the pack.

  6. Mr Dave Beckermann, founding President of The International Street Photographers Guild.

    I’m sure Markus Hartel and those over at the Street Photography Watercooler would be more than interested too.

  7. Phill et al. Feel free to pass this link on to anyone you think would be interested.

    BTW my current title is based on a royal model. After the old tv show QUEEN FOR A DAY.

    My title is currently Sir as I’m SIr Paul McCarthy.

    (signed) Sir Dave Beckerman

  8. Dave – One suggestion … if this organization does in fact take root I would propose it not solely be focused at street photographers but any photographers that are interested in using the web to bring their work into the public eye and make thier living while doing so.

  9. Ty – there’s nothing in the write-up about just including street photographers. The criteria is to include any photographers that a) post regularly to their blog b) are under-represented in search engines and most importantly are fine-art photographers. I don’t want to include commercial (wedding photographers etc.) and I only want to include photographers with fairly substantial portfolios.

  10. Thanks for the link TY…However tineye is useless at this stage in the game…I tried a few images that were posted on my flickr site and my new website as well as GOOGLE images and if tineye can’t locate an image with at least 3 urls, then it hasn’t developed much usefulness yet…I don’t mean to put them down, but after searching for three images with at least nine locations, I thought they’d find at least one of them…

  11. “albeit in beta. It’s called Tin Eye”

    I’d agree Matt that Tineye is useless at this stage. I’m not sure what has happened but Tineye has been touted for at least 18 months in my recollection but has always remained in beta.

    Perhaps they ran into some issues somewhere. Shame really and I hope it is advanced; it could be quite a good service.

    Ty; you know anymore?

  12. Phil and Matt – I agree that Tin Eye is not the end all answer. But I have seen it locate images. It’s free, let’s hope it or another service gets “great”.

    Digimarc which is a paid service embeds code into your jpgs and crawls the web looking for your images. There are other services along the same lines. I think you can pay them to even go after unauthorized use.This type of app/service is definitely in it’s infancy.

    In reading the member forums of stock sites like Alamy, I see that stock photographers have been able to locate images they have taken and then are sold for use. I need to look into how they find their images. It maybe the way the credit is attached to the photo via embedded exif or xmp. Does everyone make sure they have the XMP data filled out with your contact info and copyright info? I’m making sure to do it Bridge but since I’m not ready yet for prime time on the web, I’m not sure how it will play out when I go live.

  13. Tribute to Matt Weber and his romantic subway photos with music by the great Willie Nile at amolizgeven.wordpress.com. Enjoy!

  14. Matt, your work is true visual poetry. Makes me want to hit the mean streets again w/ my old Olympus XA loaded w/ the roll du jour & shot from the hip, capturing the apparent mundane & not so along with the various tedium of this (sh)city life in all its g(l)ory.

  15. It has irked me for some time that Matt hasn’t had the web exposure that he deserves.

    It is partly why I came up with the Photoblogger Society idea.

    It isn’t fair that photographers that don’t have great web skills get buried in the webosphere.

    That was why I convinced him to start the blog. And I think it is helping to give his work a web presence.

    I would like to use my web skills to do the same for others that deserve to be seem. There’s nothing in it for me other than a sense of satisfaction.

    DB

  16. Hey Dave, I forgot that Google charges $200 per month to boost you to the top of their rankings…You are doing the same thing for free…which makes you a mensch, although still a struggling one…

  17. I’m surprised that a photoblogger would not know the meaning of “mensch.” To put it simply for the technically-challenged, a mensch is any knob on the body of a camera which affects the virtual image as opposed to the actual image. For example, the adjustable lens would not be considered a mensch because it does not fall into the category of a knob, which is a rounded protruberance. Ironically, in British slang a “knob” is a contemtible person, whereas in photo-lingo it has come to mean the opposite, a stand-up guy, a great human being, presumely attributable to the invaluable functions that knobs perform on cameras. I hope that clarifies matters for the uninformed.

  18. A mensch is a Yiddish word that means a person with the connotation of a good person.

    A mensch can be a man or a woman. There is no English equivalent.

Comments are closed.