Park and 56th, Night

park-ave

Yes, but who would know.  I did a lot of shooting at this location, and I’m not sure that this is the best one, but where HDR comes in is simply that you can see the driver’s face which is only visible in the most over-exposed shot.  And as someone noted, hdr doesn’t need to be sci-fi looking… at any rate as I go along I begin to get a workflow that makes sense.    I’ve reached a breathing space and I’ll go back to taking care of business (getting orders out) for the next two days.  But as I say – just another tool – you get to decide what you want to use it for.

Published by

Dave

My name is Dave Beckerman. I am a photographer and programmer working in New York City.

5 thoughts on “Park and 56th, Night”

  1. Hi Dave,

    I’m reading with interest your HDR journey. I’ve dipped my toe in as well and have recognized that – particularly for night work with many bright lights that this technique may be a solution to eliminate the blown out look that street lights, etc typically take on. I’ve found that this – at least for me – is one of things I find challenging about digital vs. film, in that film (particularly B&W large format) is much more forgiving in those highlights than digital.

    I have not really liked the vast majority of HDR work I’ve seen as it takes on a “milky”, unreal, other worldly look. It’s odd but when the tone mapping takes on a certain pattern I find it makes me feel uneasy, I just can’t enjoy looking at the image. Just not to my sensibility. With the little time I’ve spent exploring HDR in PS, it did seem that one might be able to fine tune settings and workflow to get the benefits – extended dynamic range – without the obvious HDR look.

    I’d be interested in any discoveries you make in the adjustment of the many sub controls in Photomatix and your workflow to find what works for you.

    Thanks for sharing your shots and the journey your making in working with HDR. I think the night limo shot is the best of the bunch so far and really controls those troublesome highlights well.

  2. Dave, this photo is exceptional. I have not tried to convert an HDR to B&W, but I have thought about it. Now, I’m going to work diligently on this method. Your image shows how great PhotoMatrix can be as a tool for B&W photography. –Brent

  3. This image is stunning. And the color work you are refining with Photomatix is also exceptional. This software tool could give you a whole new body of work.

    ken

Comments are closed.