Metropolitan Museum – Night

met_museum_6160_color

f8 /1.5 sec, f8 /0.7, f8 /3.0

asa 400

And getting out of the street before cars making the left hand turn hit me.  One light gives me time to reset the tripod, and take three shots. After this I spent an hour or so shooting in the park.  I would’ve been doing prints today but ran out of magenta.  I had it in my head all week that it was the yellow that was running down, and I have a yellow cartridge, but it turned out to be magenta.  A call to shadesofpaper and I’ll have new cartridges tomorrow.  I’m going through the 220 ml  ink very quickly these days.

I had a call from an art buyer who wanted to buy prints for a client, but the problem was that the prices were too low.  That’s an ongoing issue with art buyers, in that they can’t make a profit at the prices I’m selling prints for even if I give them a trade discount.  Gallery owners, art buyers, they know that the client may easily find the work and the prices on the web so they can’t bump up the prices and it isn’t worth the effort to make a few bucks on prints.  The other issue for them is that the prints are not perceived to be art at these prices.

The only thing I can think of is to sell limited editions for a lot more.  I mean a lot more so that everyone knows that they are art, however, since they are exactly the same as the other prints – I don’t think that will fly.  I really don’t see any way to cater to both the low-end and the high-end market.  You can do one or the other, but not both.  Since the business model I’ve carved out is working – it would be crazy to change it.  The best I can do is to raise the prices for the larger prints.

* * *

None of us can resist the dreaded  streak of light effect… This one was simply run through tone mapping.

met-with-streak-6188

I’m obviously still playing with night lights… After all, I’m setting the camera up to point straight at them… I should probably call this Dave’s specular adventure.

path-central-park6242

Central Park East

Published by

Dave

My name is Dave Beckerman. I am a photographer and programmer working in New York City.

3 thoughts on “Metropolitan Museum – Night”

  1. I guess that you could randomly select some pix and move them to a “limited edition” part of the website. You could pick some that you know are good, but for whatever reason they’re part of the 80 percent non-selling items. (Referring to earlier 80/20 discussion.)

    Voila, rarity value!

  2. Mike, that’s an interesting idea – if you’re saying take some prints that never sell and make them limited editions… but of course the art buyers are no different from anyone else and they want the exact same 20% of prints as anyone else. And so they’re unable to buy the prints they want because they’re too cheap.

  3. Well, it would have to be thought through.

    We all have prints that SHOULD sell, but don’t. Maybe they could be nudged towards the 20% through the Limited Edition, Photographer’s Special Selection method.

Comments are closed.