Family Breakfast HDR

dad-hdr-5684-square

Last weekend, I annoyed the family (as usual) playing around with HDR.  I didn’t have a tripod with me, and the shots that follow were hand-held and auto-bracketed (AEB) with one stop over and one under.  Most of the light was from the window on the right.

Now, on top of being hand-held, what I did was ask the unwilling participants to pretend that this was a hundred years ago, and to hold their breath while I took the three shots.  The three images were then put into PhotoMatix with the Exposure Fusion option and alignment by Matching Feature.  After that they went through Tone-mapping corrections.

As you can see, this method did an incredible job of aligning the three images.  My dad must have been moving his tongue (in the second shot there’s that glint of saliva) – and that’s something that can be fixed in post processing.

These shots (more to come) were simply imported into lightroom and no adjustments were made (other than the crop of the first shot), though I can see a few things that could be easily corrected.  But the point of it all – was that I ended up with images with incredible detail and no noise (shot at 800 ASA) and hand-held.  That was pretty astounding.

Apologies to the family for being such a pain, but the results were worth it.  (Dad, by the way, is 82, and frankly still the easiest subject to photograph).

dad_hdr-5693

I also have tons of tripod night shots where I’d do bracketing that have been just sitting in the catalog for a long time because of dynamic range issues.  So there’s a lot for me to experiment with.

Published by

Dave

My name is Dave Beckerman. I am a photographer and programmer working in New York City.

5 thoughts on “Family Breakfast HDR”

  1. They’re fine in b&w. I’ll put up some later. Right now I’m still going through other images from that breakfast. The fascinating thing is that when I look at them at 100%, and maybe I’ll put a crop up later, they have the feeling that I used to have when I was shooting with a view camera.

    It’s early in all this for me – so I’m just giving impressions as I go along… but the early results from this stuff at 800 asa are quite amazing.

  2. Seems like this technique is good for static stuff, landscapes, etc. when you can bracket the esposure.

  3. Craig – that’s how it’s usually done. But I was trying to show that it’s possible to use these techniques with handheld shots as well… but I have more to show… so hold on a bit — you’ll see some interesting stuff combining infrared color and hdr.

Comments are closed.