Shea Falling – HDR

Usually HDR (high dynamic range) technique is used with static objects as a way of expanding the dynamic range of an image (i.e. you take a series of shots and over and under expose them and then let PS combine then), but it has potential for capturing movement as well.  This is made up of five tripod shots of Shea being taken down and simply running it through the HDR process.

Essentially, you can use it to keep the static stuff and just fill in the things that are moving which is what happens in this sequence.

Shea-hdr-falling02488

Published by

Dave

My name is Dave Beckerman. I am a photographer and programmer working in New York City.

3 thoughts on “Shea Falling – HDR”

  1. Dave, I have played with HDR, and it can be quite impressive. I know Photoshop can process an HDR image, but I use Photomatix Pro. You can learn more about it at their web site, http://www.hdrsoft.com/. Blend 3 images into an HDR? Why not 5, 7, or even 10! It also has a plugin for Lightroom. Pretty cool. –Brent

  2. Yeah, actually, the Shea stadium shot is four or five blended together. The idea (not to mention the original purpose – dynamic range) – is very interesting. I am off to my dad’s house, family will be there as well, and I was thinking of using hdr to do a sort of time lapse portrait… Thanks for the hdrsoft.com link – will look at it.

Comments are closed.