Dept. of Everything

no_anything_sign

I thought this would make a good card.  The amount of rules and regulations in the city do get on my nerves.  The other day I was talking with my friend who runs a bodega.  The city sent him incredibly ugly cigarette posters which had to be installed near the register (if you sell cigarettes).  He complained for a half hour about how this would turn people’s stomachs and that he would lose business by putting them up – so he decided to stop selling cigarettes instead.

Basically though – the parking regulations are simply set up as an additional and very lucrative tax.  Frankly, I believe I have every  right to do dumb stuff so long as it doesn’t hurt anyone else.  Simple enough, but for some reason the people that get into power always feel they need to protect me from myself (which hasn’t really worked so far).

No Anything shirt
No Anything by ansel51
Design customized tshirts on zazzle.com
Published by

Dave

My name is Dave Beckerman. I am a photographer and programmer working in New York City.

3 thoughts on “Dept. of Everything”

  1. As a law-abiding retired employee of NYC, I indeed do nothing between the hours of 7 AM and 10 AM, except sleep.

    Between 10 AM and 7 PM, I always take public transportation into the city, so 0 hours of parking is fine with me.

    On Saturday, I obey the sign as well and go straight to the synagogue.

  2. I’m glad that your friend decided to stop selling cigarettes, maybe he’ll save a few lives. If all it takes is an ugly sign, why don’t we start printing ugly signs about war, drunk driving, murder, and all the other stuff that brings misery to the world.

Comments are closed.