Horse – Color IR

horse_ir_3091

Came across some color infrared shots that I like.  These were actually done with an IR filter and an unmodified 40d on a tripod (hence the blur and horse movement).  Can’t remember what filter I was using but it was dark enough so that you couldn’t see anything through the viewfinder.  A lot easier with a modified IR camera.  As a general rule, this is the only style of color that I can enjoy with my own photographs, i.e. the number of colors are limited, and it feels more like a watercolor than an oil painting if you know what I mean.  I’ve done some straight color once in a while, and for a few days, I like it – but I almost always tire of it quickly.  The infrared color seems to keep my attention and when I return to it months later – it still appeals to me.

Published by

Dave

My name is Dave Beckerman. I am a photographer and programmer working in New York City.

2 thoughts on “Horse – Color IR”

  1. You should give credit to us Jerseyans (Jerseyites? Jersvians?). This picture was taken at Garret Mountain, a stone’s throw from Paterson, NJ. And the horse looks familiar, too. I think I lost more than a few bucks on him before his banishment to the riding stables.

Comments are closed.