No Matting for a While

Oh, if this would work out – it would be a giant leap forward for mankind, okay – a giant leap forward for me.  I removed all the mat offerings.  Period.  Keep it simple.  I also added one larger size for the rectangle aspect prints (22 x 28).  Basically this is because the largest Exhibition Paper I can use is 24 x 30, and that’s the only way a 35mm aspect print will fit with a bit of a margin on the top / bottom.  I’m trying to make things as labor free for myself as possible so that more of my time can go into creative stuff such as making mugs and weaving baskets.  Okay, I’m kidding there – but only slightly.  It is fun to figure out how to combine images on a mug or a calendar etc. and I’ve always found that if it’s fun – it’s a good sign.

So no more matting unless I see sales go in the tank and determine that’s the reason.  I sold 12 mugs today.  And what’s happening is that the cards that went out with the website on the back have brought in some customers.

We’re waiting for a big snow storm to hit.  It’s started already – but very light so far.  I’m hoping that it’s still snowing hard tomorrow so I can make it to the park or wherever.  I was thinking it might be interesting from the Top of the Rock though of course you won’t see much but snow flakes and the Empire State Building and for all I know they close it during a blizzard.  Whatever.  I am getting the urge to start clicking again, now that I have the time.

Published by

Dave

My name is Dave Beckerman. I am a photographer and programmer working in New York City.

5 thoughts on “No Matting for a While”

  1. Both. Prints that are 20 x 24 or larger go into a tube. Piece of cake, and it is a very heavy duty kraft tube. Never had one damaged.

    Smaller than that, usually go flat. If I have a bunch of prints on 14 x 19 paper I’ll put them into plastic bags and stick them into the original box the paper came with. The Epson boxes are larger than the paper size, have nice sort of cardboard padding that I use, and they work really well for a number of prints.

    As far as tubes go, if I could find a tube that with say a 5 o 6 inch diameter and a length of say 18 inches, I’d use them for a lot of stuff. But the wider the diameter, the longer the tubes. The diameter matters because you don’t want to overdo the curl. For paper posters, the narrow tubes are fine. They also make triangle tubes, and square tubes etc. but they’re also too long though I’ve contemplated cutting them in half lengthwise. There’s a market out there for a company to specialize in packaging for photographs.

    Uline will do custom tubes but the minimum order is something like 2000. That would fill my house with tubes 🙂 I still feel that the wide and short tube must be out there somewhere and I keep looking when I have nothing better to do. Maybe one of the blog readers has come across such a creature.

  2. This will be very, very interesting indeed. I read somewhere (Cheryl Jacobs, I think) that she never sold prints unless she matted AND framed them, because in her experience, they never made it to people’s walls unless there was zero effort on their part to hang them. And, for her, someone seeing the hanging framed print was her best advertising. But I also believe that she never tried mail order as you have, her sales were mainly local. I really hope this works for you.

  3. Yes, it’s a very tricky business. I would say that a little less than half of my sales are matted. However, I also think that people see the price of the matted print and think they’re getting a bargain by not matting it.

    Since the mat openings are standard sizes, you can easily buy a frame with the mat for them, though that’s New York. If you’re in a small town – you’d have to pick it up over the web I guess. I should point out a few links where you can get ready-made frames with mats.

    One other aspect is that now it offers less choices to the customer – and as a general rule – at least with the prints – I think that’s a good thing. Concentrate on the size and picture you want. You’d be surprised how many times I’ve had to go back and forth in emails explaining what a mat is.

  4. I matt my own photos for framing. Sometimes I matt ones that I give away. If the prints are a standard size why bother. The person buying the print is doing so to display it. They can choose how to frame it and the size of the matt. I have seen a lot of prints that are signed on a white border and than matted to show the border and frammed.

Comments are closed.