Pointing at Me

documentary-0249
Given the amount of attention I’ve gotten this year – with some more coming up on Saturday – and given the amount of blabbing I did for the cameras – you might find it surprising that I dislike being anywhere near the center of attention.  In fact, the reason for getting into photography in the first place was probably as a means of hiding from attention and being distant from the various social events where I always felt awkward.

I am an introvert.  There is no doubt about it.  I have enjoyed my time in the shadows.  But there’s something to be said for introverts that end up in the public eye – because they’ve spent a lot of time in their own heads, living in their imagination.  And as a general rule – when they do pop up on stage – they tend to have something new, or at least curious to present.

I suppose that is why I dislike my birthday.  My entire family knows that there’s no worse day for me – not because I dislike getting older.  I don’t care about that.  But there are calls and invitations to dinner, and even a party if I’m very unlucky.  Fortunately, over the last decade since my birthday is close to Thanksgiving – the family has managed to get me a cake and presents and combine it with the Thanksgiving meal.  That’s the best for me.

As another example – although the booksigning at Bloomies on Saturday is really all for Judith – I will be very happy to have my camera with me and just document the event for her.  I hope that I’m able to stay in the background as much as possible.

There is another type – extrovert – that loves this type of stuff.  And without them, I think the world would be devoid of speeches.  But scratch most performers and you will be surprised to find an introvert who can only perform with the help of the mask they wear in public.

And with all that – thank you all for your birthday wishes.  And I hope that you all enjoy the attention you get on your day more than I do.

— Dave

documentary-kids-0270

Published by

Dave

My name is Dave Beckerman. I am a photographer and programmer working in New York City.