Tee Shirts and other Crackbrained ideas

So I found my way to Zazzle and in a few minutes I had setup a store and created my first Tee-Shirt.  If you act fast, you can buy it before I have a chance to.

If there’s some photo in particular you’d like on a tee shirt or a coffee mug etc. or hat – let me know.  If the quality is decent, I’ll put my photos on just about anything.  As far as the tee-shirt goes, they had an expensive one and a “value” one (this is the “value) one.  The Zazzle store interface was a pleasure to use.  (Knock wood).

Here is my brand new store on Zazzle – and of course I’m spending time adding stuff (which is not what I had planned for the day) though I can’t wait to get my subway tee-shirt.  At this point I’m selling them at just about cost – I make about a buck and a half if you buy the inexpensive tee-shirts.  But who knows, a buck here, a buck there… and the publicity value…


Now I know what everyone in the family’s getting for xmas.

Published by

Dave

My name is Dave Beckerman. I am a photographer and programmer working in New York City.

11 thoughts on “Tee Shirts and other Crackbrained ideas”

  1. Nothing works. Especially Windows Vista. I signed on to a website that sells lesson plans to teachers. But when it comes to the part in the uploading process where I choose images of my lessons to be shown to prospective buyers, the images get stuck in transit and IE closes down. I have to sign back on to the website and start all over again.

    I’m also supposed to have a Snipping Tool for screen captures built into Vista. I looked everywhere for it and couldn’t find it. Finally, I Googled Snipping Tool Vista and found clear directions on how to find and turn on the Snipping Tool. It turns out for some reason I’m missing the required folder.

    Now when somebody asks me how I’m spending my retirement, I say, “Figuring out why my computer doesn’t work right.”

  2. Wow! I just checked out that “Subway Car Interior” tee shirt. It looks like the wearer has a huge square hole in his chest and the inside of his body is a NYC subway car. How cool is that!

  3. the problem with the POD model is the Subject To Change Without Notice bit. Turn your back and they’ve chaged everything around, assuming they are still around. “‘Standards’are for the weak” I hear someone hiss behind me. But I’m not buying that for a second…

  4. 4) Stay clear of any of the hairbrained money-making schemes I sometimes get (uhm, that could turn out to be the first enumerated item in this list.)

  5. I don’t think this is hairbrained… I’ve sold two tee shirts already which is more than I made with my previous hairbrained schemes. Wait til I put up mugs, and bags etc.

    The problem with the hairbrained scheme is that you don’t know it until you put your best effort into it. The whole photo site was a hairbrained scheme when I started.

    I’ll know in a month or two if it works and I need time to properly promote it.

  6. I think you’re on the right track here Dave. People love this kind of thing, makes them feel connected to it somehow, vs. just another print on the wall.

  7. You may be right. It doesn’t take much time to do and I already had a couple of sales today. It’s also set so that even if you buy something else at Zazzle I still get a commission. I actually like the mugs because I could put several pictures on it. For example I have one called Bridges with three bridge pics.

  8. Yeah, I like the mugs almost more than the shirts biz-wise. Not everyone wants to wear a custom T, but we all pretty much use mugs in our day to day existence. Plus, the image is right in front of you daily, you’re in fact interacting with it, overtly in terms of use, but also a subtle psychological connection.

  9. The fact is far more people
    buy products made from
    photographs, than the photos
    themselves.

    How many people do you know
    who own an original Cartier-
    Bresson, or Richard Avedon
    print?

    How may more own a book,
    a poster, or a post card
    featuring a prints from one
    of these guys?

    Stephen

  10. Stephen, you’ve hit the nail on the head – exactly right. I’ve never owned a piece of original art. I had my Ansel Adams calendar on the wall as a sort of mark to hit; and a large Feininger print (before I knew who he was) of Fifth Avenue on the wall; and a fair share of books about photographic technique and even a few by the masters of the craft. But not a single original piece of art. In other words, it’s dawning on me that this product use may not be such a crackbrained idea as originally thought.

Comments are closed.