Birthday

As my birthday approaches (Dec. 1) I tend to take stock of the year.  Most of what I accomplished this year had more to do with the business side of things than with photographing.

– I worked hard to improve the ranking of the site and had success with that.

– Had bit parts in the two documentaries

– Had a calendar published – well one picture in a calendar that’s all over the place

– Publication of the Lennon book (though that was through the perseverance of Judith)

– Started up with the workshop / photo lesson business

– Began the site for the workshops

– Went down a crazy path with ebooks that wasted a lot of time

– Will be published in the Harvard School of Design publication (due out in Jan.)

– Sold prints for two commercial feature films

– Sold photos for national-wide gift cards

– Two installations for hospitals (the big prints done for me at WCI)

– Re-did the store design for the millionth time but made progress with using WordPress as a selling platform

– Won the Central Park Winter Photo Contest (didn’t get much from that other than a few print sales)

And I suppose I’ve forgotten a few things.  But it wasn’t much of a year as far as shooting goes.  That was intentional.  I remember that about halfway through the year I decided that I had to concentrate on bringing in more money and that’s what I did.

Next year I have two things I’d like to get done:

1) Get a book published (and not with any of the print on demand guys)

2) Build up the workshops / lessons and the site so that it brings in a more steady income.

3) And if I can – find the time to go back to shooting some new project ideas I have.

4) Stay clear of any of the hairbrained money-making schemes I sometimes get (uhm, that could turn out to be the first enumerated item in this list.)

Published by

Dave

My name is Dave Beckerman. I am a photographer and programmer working in New York City.

8 thoughts on “Birthday”

  1. What were the two feature films you had photos displayed in?

    I hope, and look forward, to being a part of your #2 for next year, as I go fully digital, and would want our seminar/workshop focus to be Lightroom intensive, to learn how it is you utilize it to convert your images to B&W … Plus, an excellent excuse and opportunity to spend a day shooting with you on the streets of the greatest city in the world! 😀

  2. I’m sworn to keep them secret until they’re released. But one has Hilary Swank in it. And the other has someone from a popular t.v. comedy.

  3. Hi Dave,I am new to your work and blog. I saw one of your pictures randomly on the internet and fell in love with it. By the way, we have the same birthday!

Comments are closed.