Ralph Kramden and the LCD

Honeymooners Tattoo

Taken in Nathans – Coney Island with A640 p/s in 2006.  The cup that Ralph is holding says: “Safety Award to Jeff P.”  His full name is on the cup (and he may have been a bus driver) but I’ll leave the last name out.

Switching to the A640 (no RAW mode) was a pretty big equipment mistake.  I could live with things that are inherent in the digital point and shoot, but I couldn’t live with the image quality.  I do remember why I bought it though – I’ve always liked that swivel LCD for street shots.  Similar, maybe better than the right-angle finders that the original street shooters were fond of.

Now I see that Nikon has the swivel LCD on their new DSLRs.  That is something that Canon should do right away.

I wonder if anyone has invented a universal LCD for digital cameras.  It wouldn’t be hard to do.  You’d just plug it into the video output jack and attach the LCD with a bracket to the camera base and swivel to your hearts content.  Is it more complicated than that?  Can you buy small battery powered LCD screens with decent resolution?  When I was doing my high-angle stuff back when – I had a cable run out from the camera to a portable DVD player and would do the composing on that.  It worked pretty well until it died.  It still plays DVDs but it won’t show output any longer.  I tried switching cables etc. and never could figure out what happened.  Anyway – just a thought if there are any electronic wizards out there.  I think I’m going to search the web to see if any attachments like that exist.  Another more sophisticated possibility would be to run the output to eye-glasses which have LCDs in them.  That I know exists.

honeymooners-cu

If nothing else – that is a heck of a tattoo.  (Full crop after noise ninja and a bunch of futzing).  Back to the picture – don’t you wonder what the story was behind this?  I wish I knew.  Was this a bus driver who really had received a safety award.  Do they give such things out?  How long to do something like that?

At any rate, I’ve spent the day experimenting with Noise Ninja.  What I find is (not much of a surprise) that I can easily fix shots from the 40D taken at 1600 with a minimum of work.  At 3200 – yes – but it involves more post-processing and it’s tricky – even with some of the nice hints that have been suggested such as bopping into Photoshop and using “find edges” and reversing it etc. and running it through Ninja etc…  And I also have to remind myself not to get too crazy with the pixel peeping stuff and remember to print the stuff at normal sizes before jumping to conclusions.  But I’m still working with some of the jpgs from ’06 to see if I can get decent results from 400 ASA stuff that I shot on the subway.  One thing that helps the overall look is after you go through all your normal NR stuff – throw in some film grain from LR3.  I’ll post some examples of that soon.

Published by

Dave

My name is Dave Beckerman. I am a photographer and programmer working in New York City.