New Photoshop Art

Here’s a shot of what Photoshop can spit out (if you want) when it crashes.  At 8pt font, it fills 6 pages.  I could see a series of these in some trendy Soho gallery.  You look at it and it has that feeling of half-Matrix movie; and half “it means something” from Close Encounters.  At least that’s what I get from it.  (Editors note: Dave wants to make sure that PC users realize that this isn’t something that appears on the screen when a program crashes – but you can access this information if you look at the file that Microsoft would like you to send them when you get a crash.  Furthermore, nothing wrong with Photoshop, it just crashes after I use Lightroom 3).

I’ve been contacted by a government agency which plans to use this pattern for wallpaper as a means of extracting confessions.

MICROSOFT CRASH ART

Photoshop-Crash

CLOSEUP OF CRASH

photoshop-crash-cu

Published by

Dave

My name is Dave Beckerman. I am a photographer and programmer working in New York City.

3 thoughts on “New Photoshop Art”

  1. This is in the great tradition of “found art” pioneered by Marcel Duchamp, whose urinal inscribed with “R. Mutt 1917” remains an icon of dadaism. Sorry Dave, but you are 92 years behind the times.

  2. Usually, I would agree with your learned thoughts. But this is a new form of dadaism because M. Duchamp didn’t have pcs with XP. I expect that these Crash Arts will have great meaning for anyone who is currently working on a PC and for future generations who wonder what the heck we had to live with. And yes, following Duchamp, I have buried my own slogan in the code: Bx082. This was the bus I took to school when I was 10 years old.

  3. You may be right. If this art is a new form of dadaism, you should put in a new category. Maybe call it “miasmaism”, after the noxious swamp gas given off by the rotting of vegetative matter. Other examples of this new art form may include the cacaphony of cell phone ringtones and conversations heard in Grand Central Station or a week of shopping channel shows rerun at 20x speed.

Comments are closed.