Coming Soon

Promo for a restaurant in New York (early 1990s)

Coming-soon

And at my (something – back – head?) I always hear death’s (wing-ed something or other) hanging near or buzzing near.  I’m sure that all the literary stuff I once knew is fluttering around when I take pictures.

A rough paraphrase from a romantic poem that I’m sure someone can tell me who wrote it.  I feel like it was Pope.  But I’m not sure.  I always remember that couplet more or less and I think it’s repeated in the poem several times.

Published by

Dave

My name is Dave Beckerman. I am a photographer and programmer working in New York City.

4 thoughts on “Coming Soon”

  1. The quote is from Andrew Marvel’s “To His Coy Mistress.” He’s trying to make it with some virgin, so he tells her that they better get it on before they turn to dust:

    “But at my back I always hear
    Time’s wingèd chariot hurrying near;
    And yonder all before us lie
    Deserts of vast eternity.
    Thy beauty shall no more be found,
    Nor, in thy marble vault, shall sound
    My echoing song: then worms shall try
    That long preserved virginity,
    And your quaint honour turn to dust,
    And into ashes all my lust:
    The grave’s a fine and private place,
    But none, I think, do there embrace.”

  2. Not quite so gruesome:

    “Time’s winged chariot hurrying near”

    Andrew Marvell, “To his Coy Mistress”

  3. hey Dave-
    been meaning to mention, your blog recently has had no left margin in the text portion. Here on the comments page it has a scant margin (about 1/8″).
    The photos have about a half inch left margin.
    I’ve tried with two browsers (firefox and safari)

  4. Is it any better now — I add 10px on the left?

    Also, how does the nyc-photo-lessons.com look? I can style this blog so it fits on the screen like the lesson blog.

    DB

Comments are closed.