no time for artists

When I met up with my sister (I’ll just call her N.) I told her about the documentaries that I was in, and as expected she asked if I was delusional.  Or put another way, wanted to know when she could see these things.  Of course this was expected of her and I might have mentioned it in a previous post.  In fact, one of the reasons that I took these shots of people pointing digicams at me (is that what they’re called) was because I knew she was going to have her doubts about my sanity and imagination.  And it is true, that I have a tendency to make things up – especially in the blog – so I sent her this image from the Halloween parade.

helen-levitt-video-3894

Of course this didn’t help much since she said there were lots of videographers at the parade and since I was known to grab the spotlight if a camera was pointed at me, it didn’t prove anything.  She also complained that she hadn’t heard of Helen Levitt and even after I told her who she was – she thought it was far-fetched that anyone would include me in a documentary about Helen Levitt.  That didn’t make any sense.  So I guess that I’m living in the shadow of the boy (now grown man) that has cried wolf (documentary) too many times and there’s no way around it.

What is funny, and why he’s smiling, is that I’m hooked up to a mike on my lapel and I’m obviously saying something funny — though I have no idea what.  When the film comes out, you’ll get to hear me schmoozing with the kids and their parents.

Published by

Dave

My name is Dave Beckerman. I am a photographer and programmer working in New York City.