The Yankees Win!

I’m happy that they won – not because I’m a Yankee fan – but because it’ll give me a chance to photograph a tickertape parade… not that anyone uses ticker tape anymore or even knows what it was.  Okay, a few of you know what it was, but I don’t know what they use now — shredded xerox paper – toilet paper.  It doesn’t matter.  The other thing is this thing where they give them the Keys to the City.

I remember that scene in a Marx Bros. film.  The Marx Bros. are supposed to be Russian aviation heroes…  Chico disguised as one of the world’s greatest aviators is going to accept the keys to the city.  Here’s his speech:

“So now I tell you how we fly to America. The first time we started we got-a half way there when we run out a gasoline, and we gotta go back. Then I take-a twice as much gasoline. This time we’re just about to land, maybe three feet, when what do you think: we run out of gasoline again. And-a back-a we go again to get-a more gas. This time I take-a plenty gas. Well, we get-a half way over, when what do you think happens: we forgot-a the airplane. So, we gotta sit down and we talk it over. Then I get-a the great idea. We no take-a gasoline, we no take-a the airplane. We take steamship, and that friends, is how we fly across the ocean.”

But what do these symbolic keys to the city get the Yanks that they don’t already have.  If I had the time, I’d try and find the history of this keys to the city thing — because it seems like it might go back to ancient wars when the conquerors would arrive and the city’s mayor would hand over keys to the city which really meant – we give up.  Take whatever you want, just don’t kill us.

Published by

Dave

My name is Dave Beckerman. I am a photographer and programmer working in New York City.

3 thoughts on “The Yankees Win!”

  1. Here are some other film quotes that may turn up at tomorow’s Yankee celebration:

    Bloomberg: As mayor of the Munchkin City
    In the County of the Land of Oz
    We welcome you, most regally
    But we’ve got to verify it legally
    To see, to see
    If Chase Utley really be
    Undeniably and reliably dead.

    A-Rod: I feel pretty,
    Oh, so pretty
    That the city should give me its key.
    A committee
    Should be organized to honor me.

    Matsui: I can’t believe that I, Godzilla, am the only surviving member of my species. But if we continue conducting nuclear tests, it’s possible that another Godzilla might appear somewhere in the world again.

    Joba: See fah luto eetheen, ee yaba ma dukey massa. Eeth wong che coh pa nageen, nah meeto toe bunky dunko. Lo choda!
    (Ok, fifteen percent. But if you fail me again, I’ll put a price on your head so big you won’t be able to go near a civilized system.)

  2. I am a life long Mets fan, but I went to photograph the Yankee parade today anyway. I realized that the Yankees are not only a great team (with at least four Hall of Famers on the staff right now), but the ladies are much more attracted to them than to the Mets. Lots of attractive Yankees and their fans at amolizgeven.wordpress.com

  3. Yo Lester, I’m a J.E.T.S. fan and when I went to the game a few weeks ago (Sanchez threw 5 Ints!) I couldn’t believe how many beautiful female fans my sad sack team has!!!

Comments are closed.