Lucky Shot

What a lucky shot.  I knew that Jeter lived in my neighborhood, but never thought I’d catch a shot of him crossing second avenue this afternoon.

jeter-2891

Dear Dave,
That is obviously not the Jeter.  That’s a guy wearing a Jeter uniform.
A Fan

Dear A Fan,
Do you mean that people will buy products just because it has the name of someone that they like on it?  It must be like magic garments or something.
Dave

Dear Dave,
You need to get out more.  Remember those Keds you wore as a kid… remember how your mom tried to talk you into wearing some no-name sneaker and you refused. It’s the same thing.  Players names, brand names — that’s the stuff that dreams are made of.
A Fan

Dear A Fan,
Ah, yes.  Now I remember.  We would put use magic markers (hmmm, more magic) to put the players numbers on our sneakers, right by the ankle.  Funny how it all comes back just from this one picture…
DB

Published by

Dave

My name is Dave Beckerman. I am a photographer and programmer working in New York City.