Staten Island Ferry, Infrared

I hopped on the 3 hour Circle Line cruise around Manhattan today, mainly because the cloud formations were so promising.  Very relaxing, and it was chilly enough so that it wasn’t crowded and I could stand at the bow for as long as I wanted to and pretend to be at the prow of the Titanic with the waves crashing up into my face, though I didn’t in reality get wet. The three hours went quickly. And soon we had circled the fabled isle and were on our way back down the Hudson. This was shot as the captain eased us out, backwards, away from the Manhattan Isle. I don’t know if I was the only native New Yorker there – but I wouldn’t doubt it.

staten-island-ferry-4985

Oh, and I was advised to sit on the left hand side of the boat, towards the rear for the best pictures of Manhattan, and this is true, to a point, since the boat backs out and then goes south down the Hudson with Manhattan on it’s left. But the best spot is the tip of the bow, if you can get it. There’s really just room for one or two people at the very tip. But that spot allows you to shoot in three directions: left, right and straight ahead. It’s also the coldest spot on deck, and when the captain fires off the foghorn or whatever it is, everyone in the bow area jumped at least a foot or two in the air. It’s that loud.

The boat goes under something like 28 bridges, a few that I just don’t remember ever having seen before. And although I thought that three hours would be a long time – it went quickly – and for the first time in a long time I filled up all three 4GB cards I had with me (shooting with the modified 12mp 450d).

Published by

Dave

My name is Dave Beckerman. I am a photographer and programmer working in New York City.

One thought on “Staten Island Ferry, Infrared”

Comments are closed.