Canon 7d and Cashier

We were sitting in the hamburger joint.  The cashier was had a striking profile, and I kept sliding up in my chair to get a shot of her.  Meanwhile, Matt mentioned that there was now a Canon 7D.  So talk went to that.

Didn’t even know there was such a thing.  Yeah, this is the guy I want.  Exactly.  Haven’t read reviews yet, but spec wise, I don’t need more than this.  Street price $1600.

18mp, higher usable ISO speeds etc.

100% (yikes that’s unexpected) viewfinder

Seems like they’ve actually given it weatherproofing.

Here’s a link to dpreviews PREVIEW (not hands on) specs

dpreview 7D link

And here are a bunch of samples (full size).  Look at the 3200 ASA with a bit of noise reduction and compare that to film 3200.  Imaging Resource samples.

As I write this it is backordered in most of the places I usually frequent.

Cashier – Hamburger Joint

cashier-2443

f1.4 / 1600 ASA / 50mm /1-30th of a second

“Great contrast of shape and form. Really like it. How do you use LR to work on NR. It’s such a nice, creamy looking texture.
Thanks, Bob”

Every print is different.  I sit in front of the image for a while and try and remember what I was after when I took the shot, and whether or not I can achieve that in Lightroom.  I left NR at whatever my default setting was – which isn’t very high – but then I began to use the graduated filters to lower the contrast on the highlighted areas as well as using them to darken or lighten areas around the cashier.

Some of the look goes to shooting at f1.4 with a lens that gives this sort of result wide-open.  So, in short, I rarely use NR at all, other than maybe 10 or 20%.  The overall look comes from 1) lens, 2) the shiny stuff around her 3) and how I smoothed the area around her out with graduated filters in LR.  In fact, in this shot I’m using about six graduated filters, some that are overlapping.  I’m also particular about which camera calibration profile I use.  I have  8 to choose from (ACR 4.4 through Camera Standard) with the 40D.  They all interpret the raw image differently.

And finally – in this shot – I played around with the white balance to see how it effects noise.  Even though you are seeing a b&w image – how the underlying colors are represented in terms of percentage – plays a very big part in the appearance of noise.  Playing with those grayscale mix sliders can greatly increase or decrease the amount of noise in the image.  Which is another way of saying that as a general rule, between the white balance and the grayscale mix  you want to give the interpeter as much data to use as possible; especially when shooting at high ASA speeds.

Okay – I said that was the final thing – but let me throw in one more factor: fill light.  As I write this, I realize that just about everything you have control over effects the appearance of noise, as well as the overall appearance.  So I work through with the tools and then as a last tweek, I usually find that some fill light is necessary.

Ah yes, and how could I forget (you see how it gets more and more involved) – highlight priority is on.  That has the effect of getting more data into the highlights.  I think that’s it for now though I bet as soon as I post this I’ll think of something else.

Published by

Dave

My name is Dave Beckerman. I am a photographer and programmer working in New York City.

3 thoughts on “Canon 7d and Cashier”

  1. Great contrast of shape and form. Really like it. How do you use LR to work on NR. It’s such a nice, creamy looking texture.
    Thanks, Bob

Comments are closed.