Shea Stadium – Fini

It’s been a weird year, baseball-wise. I haven’t watched a single baseball game. Not the Mets. Not the Yanks. I think this is the first year since I was a kid that I haven’t seen a game on t.v. Is it the new field? Is it all the drugs in the game? Is it a feeling that it has all become as phony as pro-wrestling? That there really aren’t teams anymore? A team is just a collection of the best players you can afford at any given time. I think that’s what has bothered me the most. I know it was always a business – but it’s like the curtain has been raised at the end of the Wizard of Oz and I find it difficult to be naive again. I wish I could go back to the way it was – or maybe the way I was – but I flick on a game and see another team playing. Those who were my heros last year, are now supposed to be my enemies.

I feel worse than when they traded Lenny Dykstra. (Did you hear that he became a millionaire businessman with some car business and then lost it all?)

Instead, I found myself watching golf and tennis and even ping-pong, and games that involved one player-against-another. I can’t think of any sport that is as boring as t.v. golf – but there I was – watching it and wondering if Tiger Woods could come back after some bad play during the middle of the game. Well, Shea is gone. I guess I’ll stick with tennis now. Maybe professional boxing will make a comeback. I used to be a big fan of that bloody science.

Published by

Dave

My name is Dave Beckerman. I am a photographer and programmer working in New York City.

4 thoughts on “Shea Stadium – Fini”

  1. Was this post filed under whining?

    You can’t worry about the steroids which 90% of the players were using.
    You can’t worry about the millions they get paid to play a kids game.
    Ebbets field was great. The polo grounds wasn’t that bad. The days of
    kids playing stickball with the “Say Hey Kid” are long gone. Too bad,
    cause the good old days were great as far as baseball was concerned,
    if you were lucky enough to remember New York as a three team town.

    Just watch the Yankees. Jeter, Posada, Pettitte & Rivera still play and
    play well. Phil Hughes and sometimes Joba when they let him pitch
    more than three innings are good players. Cano looks like Rod Carew
    on a good night. That’s more than 25% of the team that’s from the farm
    and has played almost their entire carrers here. I don’t like the Metsie’s
    general manager very much. I think he’s your main problem.

    I forgot about Melky. That’s 33% of the Yankees from their own system.

    Sanchez looks pretty good too! Go J.E.T.S.

  2. Yes! This post has been properly filed under “Whining.” Baseball has lost a fan. I watched a Belgium woman (Clijsters) playing in the Tennis Open today. She has been out of the game for two years to have a child. It moved me, almost to tears (and she was crying at the end) as she beat Venus Williams to make it into the quarter finals. And she did it with grace, and without having to grunt. As I say. Yes, Tennis is a business, and maybe they’re all on drugs, but you can follow one person and become a fan.

    That’s really all I was missing. Having someone to be a fan of. That could inspire me.

  3. Watch Jeter tie Gehrig’s record and you’ll be watching someone who may not have injected
    “The Fountain of Youth” into his butt, and is 1,000 times the player than the Mets have
    at short. I forget the whiner’s name, but Jeter’s a winner. Old school and I have to admit
    he’s one of the few ballplayers who deserves the money…There’s also something about team
    sports that makes you appreciate a true leader, which of course the Mets have been lacking
    since Keith Hernandez retired…

Comments are closed.