Catching Up Day

Lots of Pigeons
Lots of Pigeons

I don’t know about you – but I usually have one day a week where I seem to be able to catch up with everything – and for me it’s Tuesday.  I have no idea why this is, but just about every Tuesday I seem to be firing on all cylinders.  Today I managed to finish printing all the orders that were left, and even a couple that came in today.  I was able to find most of the negs. for J’s book (though there are still a couple missing).  God – I hated to do it but I had to spot two pretty dirty negatives and that alone took about an hour.  Every time I have to go back and work with a rescan of a negative I could kick myself – both in terms of finding the thing and then having to clean it up.  That’s one thing I don’t think I’ve ever had to do with a digital capture (dust-spotting).  In fact, with all the digital shots I’ve done, I can’t remember ever having dust on the sensor.

Then I got together 20 photos and sent them off to the editor who is working on what I’m calling the Matt film (she liked the Taxi Cab at night) shot the best.  And finally I did a 23 x 30 print from a 40D negative by running it through PhotoZoom Pro giving it a slightly grainy look to make up for what would otherwise have been some artifacts.

In other words – a busy productive day.  The pigeon shot (above) was one of those negs. I had to find for J.’s book.  I actually scanned it on the 4990 flatbed because I had put the SprintScan Neg. Scanner in the closet.  I can’t get as large a scan, but it was good enough for book printing purposes.

Tomorrow will be more packaging / shipping – and then I should be up-to-date and actually be able to go out and shoot.  I’ve been thinking about taking the boat that goes up to what used to be Shea Stadium from 23rd street.  It’s a double decker boat with an open top deck and the ride takes about two hours.  I’ve been waiting for the weather to get non-rainy – as most of the shots I had in mind were pointing up at the underside of the three bridges the boat goes underneath.  Well – I have to check the schedule for that and the weather.

When I get back from my little trip to N.H. I’ll start thinking more seriously about how to organize the workshop walkabout.  (Ever see that movie — Walkabout? very good).

I also got most of the new parts of the store working properly. The most viewed images is interesting because in some ways it is a self-fulfilling prophesy. Which is to say that when an image is at the top of the list because it’s popular, it will also get more clicks because it is popular.

Published by

Dave

My name is Dave Beckerman. I am a photographer and programmer working in New York City.

2 thoughts on “Catching Up Day”

  1. Hi Dave,

    Is that from a medium format neg? How do you find the 4990 scanners performance compared to your 35mm film scanner? I have a stack of Widelux panoramas to scan and have wondered if this could be the way to go.

    Are you talking about Walkabout the Aussie movie from the 70s? If so, I haven’t seen it for ages but remember it was good. I can recommend a more recent movie The Tracker which features the same aboriginal actor and similar fantastic location cinematography.

    Cheers,
    Dennis.

  2. That’s a 35mm neg. Well, I used this flatbed for my large and medium format negatives since I never could afford a MF / LF film scanner. Obviously, can’t say much about it for color negs, but it’s done the trick for MF and esp. large format. I don’t use it very often anymore since I’m shooting digital, but when I do go back to the user interface after not using it for a long while, I have to admit it had me confused for a while. There maybe a later model, I don’t keep up with this stuff anymore, but as I say – I’ve gotten sharp MF scans with all the shadow detail I can use. And if I was really going to get picky, I’d use VueScan (I used to use that software, I think that’s what it was called).

    Can’t say much more than that about it. For 35mm, you can’t really go big enough without interpolation so I still keep the 35mm film scanner for that size. I just didn’t have it hooked up yesterday, and the scan just had to be 5 x 7 for a book. Other than bringing it in to be scanned, I don’t really know how else you can go about it.

Comments are closed.