iPhone Question

Off topic: I’m a few weeks with the Blackberry Curve (8330) and it is a major leap forward from the un-smartphone I had before.  And of all things, I began to use it for just about everything: task management, music, some card games, blah, blah, blah.  Reception is always absolutely clear, and for $99 it was a great buy.  But there is one question that I’m puzzled about – and maybe one of my readers could clue me in on this: why did Apple lock itself up with AT&T.  I know that Verizon and AT&T use different – what do you call it – protocols, systems, for broadband and wi-fi.  But I would have to believe that Apple could easily offer a version for Verizon and a version for AT&T.  I just use them as examples because I forgot the acronyms for the two systems.

But that decision is something I don’t understand.  So if it’s not a technical thing – why did they partner with AT&T, and do you think that in the future they will offer iPhones for Verizon customers.  I became very interested in the mobile environment after getting the BB.  Although there are tons of BB Apps – it’s RIM is still behind Apple as far as innovative Operating Systems go.  (Though Google is taking a crack at the market now… but that’s another story).

It’s true that more BB Curves were sold than iPhones in the last quarter – but given that BB has been around for a long time, and that they work with many carriers – plus they were actually giving them away – it isn’t a fair comparison.  If the iPhone was available for various carriers – it would have blown BB out of the water.  So again – I wonder about this tie with AT&T and whether it was a sort of stepping stone – before introducing a version for other carriers – or whether there is some business reason for the partnership that escapes me.

Just one of those things that bugs me.  Also, I used the camera on the Curve this morning and was surprised to find that it had a very pleasing and soft flash that went off.  Also, that you can buy an app to turn it into a flashlight.  Kind of cool for when I’m out shooting at night.  I’ll tell you, once you take a dip into this digital stuff – it really pulls you in.

Next trip – I’ll have my BB, and eBook – and even though I’m going to a desolate spot without any signals – between these two small gadgets, it’s sort of like taking your home with you.  I still haven’t gotten to the point where you’ll see me walking through the streets staring down at the BB – but I do have it with me – usually turned off – and sometimes I’ll just sit down in the park – turn it on – and go through my e-mails which are my lifeline.  I can see how it really is possible to run your business (this sort of web-based business) from this tiny thing that reminds me of – what were they called in Star Trek – tricorders?  I just got that.  First re-corders. Then tri-corders.  And eventually quad-corders.  Ah, that Rodenberry.  Genius.  Only thing that’s missing is some sort of stun device, and that thing that McCoy had for doing cat-scans on the go.  But that day will come.

Published by

Dave

My name is Dave Beckerman. I am a photographer and programmer working in New York City.

3 thoughts on “iPhone Question”

  1. iPhone-AT&T was a marketing stint foremost. AT&T was willing to pay Apple more per user then Verizon. Apple also knew that it can market GSM version all over the world, while CDMA (that Verizon uses) operates only in US and few Asian countries.
    While iPhone is cute and functional, Blackberry still has a superior keypad, at least by 8830 does.

  2. Apple originally offered the iPhone to Verizon but verizon turned them down. Apple had a pretty tough list of conditions; no advance look at the phone, no “two-year” pricing plan, and a larger chunk of the price (I think there was something else too).

    I have an iPhone and love it, I used to have an 8830 but for me the iPhone is so much better. The internet looks like it is supposed to, and the fact that it is my iPod is great.

    Everyone I know who has an iPhone switched from Verizon to ATT, if Verizon had taken the Apple deal there would be no more ATT. The ATT service is HORRIBLE, I hate it as does everyone else who has an iPhone.

  3. Rob – exactly why I was so puzzled by the AT&T iPhone partnership. I would have snapped up an iPhone in a minute if the carrier was Verizon. In the United States, at least, which is where I happen to live, the Verizon service is just so much better. I’m happy with the Blackberry Curve, because it is a quantum leap from the crappy phone I was using before, and because I mostly use it for e-mail (which it is very good at managing). I’ve had to add a bunch of apps for the BB (such as the Opera mini-browser) and a quick-start app, and a better theme than what came with the BB, as well as an app which can read all my iTunes stuff. As I say, it is very good for managing e-mail, but the web experience leaves a lot to be desired (even with the newer touchscreen version). If the iPhone were available for Verizon customers – I would still bite the financial bullet and make the switch.

    What I wonder about is how long is Apple bound to using AT&T, and whether there are plans to have a Verizon version (even though I understand that there are two different protocols involved).

Comments are closed.