Print Sale

Couldn’t figure out which prints to put up for sale, so I just put everything on sale. 20% off all prints, all sizes until June 1.  Now, according to my theory, this won’t do much at all in terms of increasing sales, because I don’t think that the art purchase is heavily influenced that much by the cost.  HOWEVER, since this is a marketing issue, and I’m always wrong about marketing issues, then it will help sales a lot.  Also, since I’m planning some trips in June – this seemed like a good time to give it a try.  I could be wrong but I think it’s the first sale I’ve ever done.  (Part of that is also that since moving the store to WordPress, this sort of thing is much easier for me to implement).

I had some tech issues with Internet Explorer caching pages and not doing the javascript calculation – but didn’t have any problems with Opera or Firefox – and IE did work after I cleared the cache (which is why I put that note about it in the sidebar).

You can test it without actually buying anything if you have nothing better to do – and if it doesn’t work, and clearing the cache doesn’t work – then let me know what browser and OS you’re on.  It’s based on a very simple javascript so as long as the js file isn’t being cached, it really should work.

Well anyway – in the meantime – I’ve still had a bunch of orders to take care of, and I’ve been doing daily trips to the Met.

Here’s the STORE LINK if you want to check out the sale.

* * *

Fascinating.  Just had two orders after enabling the 20% off sale.  Maybe these things do work.  Can you imagine if I had someone who actually knew something about marketing rather than my own trial-and-error method.

Published by

Dave

My name is Dave Beckerman. I am a photographer and programmer working in New York City.

6 thoughts on “Print Sale”

  1. I read this incredible book a while ago “Predictably Irrational” where the author pretty much explains in a very entertaining way and with examples how we actually make decisions… you could get quite a few marketing ideas out of that!

  2. Christ,

    A store link in one of your
    blog posts, things must be bad!

    Just kidding?

    Sometimes when I’m here looking
    at your stuff I wonder why you’re
    not up there with the ‘big guns’?

    I mean your photographs are about
    300% better than many I see in
    ‘Arty’ photo mags, and 2,000,000%
    better than most other photo mags,
    excluding images by masters like
    Brett Weston or HC-B.

    Dorothea Lange was a pretty mean
    social photographer too!

    I dunno why you’re putting on a
    SALE. Wouldn’t it be better to
    say ‘Buy Now At Today’s Prices
    While Stocks Last’!

    And increase your prices by 100%
    tomorrow :~)

    Stephen

  3. Thanks Stephen. Since I announced the sale, something like five orders came in (last two days?). Maybe I will be “discovered” someday – but I don’t think I can do it purely through the web which is still looked down on by the forces that be. And to some extent I understand that. To really leap frog, I would need to stop selling on the web; and go the REAL GALLERY ROUTE through the art world. ROUTE WINE AND CHEESE. I would also need to do something CUTTING EDGE. Which I haven’t ever done. You can’t make a BIG ART SPLASH shooting puddles. Where’s the controversy in that.

  4. I gotta second Stephen’s comments, your work is always top-notch, and certainly better than 99.9% of the work I see in, say, B&W magazine (and I LIKE a lot of that work), so what I’m saying is that I don’t see why you toil in obscurity.

    I remember an epiphany I had when I was studying to be a theatrical lighting designer at “Lester Polakov’s Studio and Forum of Stage Design” down on Washington Street in the West Village. Most of the ‘famous’ working lighting designers had to do something else besides theater lighting design to make a living. There just weren’t enough gigs on Broadway, in the ballet, in regional theater, to support them. They taught (at Lester’s, at NYU, at Yale, at Rutgers, wherever) did architectural lighting design (Jules Fisher, who was at the time as famous as one could get doing all of Fosse’s musicals) made money consulting with architects (and many years later did the ‘Tribute in Light’ at ground zero). There simply was no one who ‘only’ did lighting design for a living. They are did other things to support their art. I remember being very surprised when I found that out. Second only, I think, to when I discovered that very few of them had a viable family life. To simply make it in that world they had sacrificed quite a bit.

    What I’m saying, I guess, is that the route you have taken, without giving lectures/classes, without publishing a book, etc., is the hard road, it seems.

  5. I agree as well. The amount of work I’ve been doing to scrape by has seemed idiotic lately.

    On the other hand I have to be careful. I know myself and I have a bad of making rash at just the wrong time.

Comments are closed.