Blackberry Curve

I’ve had the BB Curve (8330) for about two weeks now and love it.  I have it with broadband connection (Verizon).  Let’s see, I’ve added Opera Mini for browsing – way better and faster than any of the built in emulations.  Added a theme which gives it an iPhone look.  And one app to use shortcuts easily.  Hit the convenience button on the right side and a list of my favorite stuff pops up over any program I’m currently in.  The Opera browser syncs up everything on their website.  And best of all – at least for me – if my Roadrunner cable connection goes down, I can hook the phone up through USB and get a nice backup broadband connection for the PC laptop.

The data plan is about $45 more than what I pay for voice, bringing the total monthly charge to $95, and the BB price was $99.

Since I’ve had it, I’ve stuck a 2 GB card in it that I had left over from my last phone, and transfered most of my music to it.  Of course I have the usual gripe that the little keys are little, but I’ve already gotten pretty good at the two thumb method.

The main reason I upgraded was simply to get email, since my business is run on email, but I soon began to use the calendar and task app; and all in all, I’m a happy camper.  If the iPhone was cheaper and used Verizon (which for me has always given good coverage in New York) – I might have gone for that.  I know there are ways to crack the iPhone to use whatever carrier you want – but on principle that just rubbed me the wrong way.

Honestly, I didn’t know much about the Curve when I bought it other than reading as many user reviews as I could find (which was a lot) and checking with a few friends who had them.  I found out after I bought it that it currently outsells the iPhone which considering the amount of ads for it, seems odd.  Though the BB has been around much longer, so maybe that’s why.  Or maybe it’s the same reasons that I had – namely not wanting to use ATT.

Now remember, I’ve just upgraded from a POS clamshell which was a true PITA to use, and also that I don’t have a land line, so I use it for everything.

Since I’m using gmail, there’s really no hassles at all between what I get on my PC and the BB.  In other words, I mark something as read, or delete an email on the BB and that pretty much takes care of syncing what I get with the PC.   There’s also a gmail app for the BB that I fooled around with, but I didn’t make much use for it, so I removed it.

I don’t know if there’s a BB with slightly larger keys, but if there is – I would’ve gone for that.  At one point, during the first few days, I was thinking of using guitar finger picks – put one on each thumb – to hit the keys.  But eventually got the hang of it.  I still wonder if anyone has ever thought of that.  You know what I mean if you do fingerpicking on the guitar or banjo, you use those picks that go on the thumbs or fingers and they’re tapered with a point at the end.

As far as apps go, the best site I’ve found so far is Crackberry.com

I’ve got the shortcuts set so I can go directly to my twitter login, and I’ve done one tweet from the BB.  I’ve also done one of these blog entries from the BB, though typing anything long is still a chore.  Anyway – I’m just at the start of fooling around with it, and as I say – so far – so good.

Published by

Dave

My name is Dave Beckerman. I am a photographer and programmer working in New York City.

2 thoughts on “Blackberry Curve”

  1. “If the iPhone was cheaper and used Verizon (which for me has always given good coverage in New York) – I might have gone for that. I know there are ways to crack the iPhone to use whatever carrier you want”

    No, Verizon uses incompatible CDMA technology.

Comments are closed.