Central Park Winter – High Angle II

What’s amazing is that at full screen, I can easily make out the Bethesda Fountain and the Angel.  It’s about one third from the right, and one-third from the top.  Considering that the 70-300mm 5.6 IS is a non-L lens, I’m very impressed with it.  It folds down nicely, and fits easily in my bag.  So my kit – for a day trip is the 30mm Sigma and the 70-300mm.  I also came across these neat cases for cards made by Pelican.  So if I’m using SD cards with the 450, I bring that case with 6 cards.  I’ve never used more than 2 in any one day – but I have the extras just in case.  And with the 40D, I have a small Pelican CF case.  Since I do a lot of shooting in the rain / snow etc. they seem to be well-protected and I don’t need to have a bunch of cards floating around to lose.  It comes with a rubber insert – and I can’t really figure out what that’s for.  It’s got a clasp which has been easy to open and close with gloves on in the snow.

My only gripe with the 450D is that the focus lock / lock exposure button is too small; and unlike the 40D there is no separate button for focus lock. On the other hand, the tiny size of the 450D which I didn’t like at first – is now a pleasure to use and that My Menu thing which I never used before has turned out to be handy because you can set it to come up first when you press the menu button and most of the stuff that I need to get to quickly is on the menu.  I take it everywhere (usually with the 30mm Sigma) and for me, that’s one of the prerequisites of a good camera, i.e. a camera that you don’t need to think twice about taking with you.

I have no qualms about shooting at 800 and frankly 1600 has been good also.  As far as weather-proofing goes – I guess it’s not great but I have had it soaked once in a rain without a problem but if I know I’m going into bad weather, I’ll usually go for the 40D instead.  Though I have no idea if there’s any difference in terms of weather-proofing.

Another thing I’ve noticed as far as the LifePixel conversion goes – is that for whatever reason – the 450D has a different look than the previous XT I was using.  In some cases, the infrared effect seems stronger – with blue skies – and yet it seems more sensitive to tungsten lights – and in many cases I can give it a “non-infrared” look in Lightroom.  So it’s pretty versatile.  I did a series of shots in the restaurant complex of Rockefeller Center – and the camera was sensitive to the tungsten lighting.  On the other hand – if you are in a subway car without a flash – forget it.  You can over expose from eight stops from the meter reading and still get nothing but blackness (florescent lights).

central-park-winter-beth-3111

Published by

Dave

My name is Dave Beckerman. I am a photographer and programmer working in New York City.

3 thoughts on “Central Park Winter – High Angle II”

  1. Looking good Dave!

    I just bought a Kodak book “Applied Infrared Photography” from 1972. Obviously it only talks about film but it’s packed with info explaining IR transmission and reflectance of various subjects. There is some discussion of adding filters similar to black and white photography. Examples are given with a red #25 filter and also a polarizing filter.

    I did play around a bit this morning with the polarizer but it was too hot outside to go beyond the backyard (43C or about 110F). More experiments to follow I’m sure.

    Sounds like you must be about ready to jump in a car for a few days and head out north.

  2. Dave, did you also take this from Rockefeller Center? If so…. hmmmm…. 50th St to about 73rd St… I’m truly amazed!

    In any event, it’s a beautiful photo. I’m enjoying your 450D IR photos!

  3. Yep. I have a whole series from Rockefeller Center – that I’m still working on. All with the 450D IR. The results are much better than what I mangaged with HIE IR film. Much less grainy and much sharper.

Comments are closed.