NEW blog theme

I’m writing this on the new laptop.  I’d like to say that I’m in California, but I’m still in the house.  And yes, I changed the theme for the blog because it wasn’t displaying the right-hand column with the old theme on the laptop.

It’s actually pretty useful to be able to see the store and whatever I’m designing on this second machine in IE which I never use and which has a more usual screen resolution.

I did see lots of unprotected wi-fi connections – and it was funny but for a little while, I left my wi-fi connection unsecured and almost immediately I could see that my neighbor’s Mac had latched on to it.  I kicked him off though.

Another funny thing – is that when the laptop is being advertised, they say: includes 8 in 1 media reader.  Which is true, but none of those 8 things that it reads are CF cards.  I’ll bew using SD cards with the Infrared camera; but still, you’d think that if they were going to enclose 8 readers in one, that one would be for CF cards; but maybe CF cards are on the way out for everything but higher end Canons.

Maybe I’ll plan my trip around wi-fi hotspots.  Go from one Starbucks to the next.  Then I can be like one of those guys in the previous picture, sitting in the coffee shop and typing away with buds in my ear.  I am slowly becoming the thing I made fun of, or at least made social commentary on just a few days ago.  Oh, how quickly we are pulled in to the digital vortex, esp. if we already have years of digital proclivities.  DIGITAL PROCLIVITIES.  I wonder if that name has been taken yet for a domain name?

Good.  And I got it networked with my mainframe.

Published by

Dave

My name is Dave Beckerman. I am a photographer and programmer working in New York City.

5 thoughts on “NEW blog theme”

  1. If you get a Starbucks card (load as little as $5 on it) and register the card (a) with Starbucks and then with (b) attwifi.com, then you can use your account/password for a single free 2-hour Wifi connection daily at any Starbucks. All you need to do is use the card at least once a month.

    https://secure.sbc.com/sblp_index.adp

    I use this with my iPod Touch (the iPhone without a phone) when I make the occasional visit there. Works great.

    I assume that if you have more than one email address you can use you could theoretically get a bunch of cards registered each with $5 on them, and get multiple 2-hour blocks of free Wifi from each of them every day, logging into a new account once you use up a block with the previous one.

  2. That is cool. Tomorrow my 450D arrives; and I’ve completely got the laptop setup as if I were going somewhere tomorrow 🙂 I think I’m going to carry it in a camera backpack (that I used to carry my view camera in). I knew that thing would come in handy one day. I can keep extra lenses and a body in the bag as well. In other words, everything I need tech-wise in the camera backpack. A second backpack for some clothes, and I’m ready to hit the road. I actually found a car rental place in New York – nearby – that sends me specials once in a while for $35 / day. I’m getting into it.

    I was sort of wondering whether I should spring for a wi-fi card; but I haven’t really looked into it yet. My real problem right now is that orders are continuing to come in at a pretty brisk rate (and a lot of them are for Valentine’s day) so I can’t just pick up and leave for a week; but I can do a day or two right now; longer trips later.

  3. One of my favorite movies; but this cat will not walk on a leash; and is strictly a house cat. If I had a dog, this could be a 21st Century “Travels With Charlie.” Robert Frank got a Guggenheim to find America. I’m going to apply for one also, but the odds are not good; and I’ve missed the deadline for 2009. I need four authorities to send letters describing my art and life. And of course I do need to quantify a project. (This is when it helps to have gone to photography school and been knighted by established figures). Well – there’s always the unknighted figures to call upon. And I’ve got a whole year to come up with a project.

  4. I know people who specialize in compiling/writing grant appplicaions for artists and also for museums. These people are worth every penny of their consulting services because they’re successful.

    You just missed a free seminar at B&H on this topic by David Wells (thewellspoint dot com and davidhwells dot com). Wells also teaches classes at The Maine Workshops, one recent one a 5-day course that gave individual attention to artists trying to get grants. According to his bio Wells himself has gotten grants from the “Macarthur Foundation, The Pennsylvania Council on the Arts and a Fulbright Scholarship to India in 1999.”

    I went to the B&H seminar, out of curiosity more than anything. Very interesting. He broke down the grants into ‘art grants’ (eg Guggenheim, Pollack-Krasner, NYFA) which he describes as networking- and resume-based, ‘journalistic grants’ (eg Alexia) which requires a journalistic background, and ‘topic-specific’ which he says are the most common, and which require the most legwork in (a) finding foundations and (b) ‘solving someone’s problem.’ An example he gave was funding to take a ship to Antarctica to photograph scientists … which he convinced the NSF (I think) to fund. His muti-day seminars/consulting breaks down finding foundations, writing proposals, constructing finding requests, etc. It is not designed to be friendly to someone who is not acquainted with the preexisting expectations and traps — it’s a hurdle that you’re essentially required to jump to prove yourself and separate yourself from all the other photographers who want grants. A culling process. Something someone really needs assistance with.

    Robert Frank got his money after writing an absurdly short request — he was essentially guaranteed it because of preexisting connections.

Comments are closed.