Tech Status

And finally a few techie things as I prepare for my travels.

First off (and this has nothing to do with the travels) but the Dell Flatscreen monitor I ordered at the start of the year – they kept postponing delivery – until finally they e-mailed me and said that under the law they would have to cancel the shipment unless I told them it was okay to ship it later.  So I canceled shipment of the 22-inch Dell flatscreen.   I think there’s some hold-up with China or something but frankly, Dell used to be much more prompt with deliveries and then…

the Dell laptop that I ordered, although they said it was in stock and normally shipped in 1-3 days, the current ship date is Feb. 2, and I ordered it a few days ago.  So who knows what’s going to happen with that.  Of course they sent the Wireless Broadband Router out the next day, so I’ve got a router but nothing to route.

And the third piece of the puzzle: I just ordered the Canon 450D (xsi) from Amazon which is the consumer 12.2 mp – my idea being to send that off to LifePixel for my infrared conversion and it is already shipped and will arrive tomorrow.

Damned cheap at Amazon ($569) with $4 for next day shipping.

So for the first couple of nearby trips, I can do it with both cameras and about 20 GB of cards, and I’m only going to do one day or two-day trips to start with in the Hudson Valley.  There are some sites from the 1800’s there that I want to visit.  They’ve got some abandoned railroads and caves in the area, not to mention the whole scenic thing where the Hudson Valley Painters worked.

I signed up with a car rental place that has been sending me coupons for cars at $50 a day, which is very good for the NYC area.

So at this point, I’m really just waiting for the second camera, and I need to finish off about four prints, and the restoration of a print I’m doing for a customer.  It was weird, but in the last couple of days three different b&w restoration jobs came in without my mentioning that I did that sort of thing.  And it is something that I enjoy – sort of bringing the dead back to life again and then doing a good quality print.

Well, let’s see if Dell plays the same delay game with the laptop.   If they delay the thing, I’ll cancel it and get something from CDW.

Published by

Dave

My name is Dave Beckerman. I am a photographer and programmer working in New York City.

One thought on “Tech Status”

  1. Sounds like you are almost ready to go.
    TigerDirect.com has some great deals on LCD flat screen monitors. I am going to order a 19 inch for my office. They usually have the stuff in stock and ship it out fast. They also have some great deals on laptops.

Comments are closed.