I Phone

If you remember, or even if you don’t, I stated that one of the things I wanted to do this year was to travel.  In the beginning, just short trips of a few days, but of course I can’t be without my connection to this site.  I need my e-mail like a baby needs a bottle.  I need to see that my site is up, and I might even want to make minor changes to one of the posts while I’m on the road.

On top of that – who knows – maybe I’ll even want to post a picture or two from the road (which road that will be I don’t know yet).

So I just write this to give you a chance to stop me before I press the BUY ME BUTTON.  I currently have a Verizon account with another year in the contract.  The phone itself is just a small nothing-from-nothing phone.  I know if I break the contract, it’ll cost me about $100, maybe a little more.

But again – this is business.  So I’m about to go online and BUY AN IPHONE and have them switch my Verizon phone number to it.  CRAZY?  Or good idea?

I know, maybe I should buy a laptop instead, but with the upcoming costs that I see down the road (no pun intended) I no can afford a laptop unless that’s the only new machine I get during the year.  I mean, I could forgo the tower and get an iMac with 4GB and call it a day.  And not get the iPhone.

So as you can see – again – I’m betwixt two places, but I’m thinking that the iPhone should be enough for the road – and I’ll hold off on the tower until I can afford it and after Mac World.

Anyway – one other thing – I hate the tiny phone I have now – and since I don’t even have a land line – it would be nice to have a phone that will be easier for my chunky fingers to navigate.

Published by

Dave

My name is Dave Beckerman. I am a photographer and programmer working in New York City.

15 thoughts on “I Phone”

  1. Dave, are you thinking you will be able to post photos from your Iphone? What about any photo editing that you would want to do? I don’t think you can get away from carrying a laptop on your travels.

    I have a Verizon account also with an LG VX5400 clamshell phone. I use a cell for telephone and nothing else. I usually take the laptop with me and can almost always find a free wi-fi connection. This laptop is my primary production unit, at this time. I’m thinking about buying a new desktop for primary production and using the laptop for field work.

    If you’re thinking seriously about the phone, consider Verizon’s new Blackberry that looks and operates just like an Iphone. The phone will cost you $$$s, but you won’t have to go through the hassle of switching carriers and taking your phone number with you. Nor will you have to pay Verizon to terminate your contract.

    Brent

  2. “… chunky fingers to navigate,” well, that may be a problem on the iPhone. I’ve got an iPhone and love it, however, it did take me a while to get used to the touch screen. Coming from a Blackberry with keys that actually depress, required about a week of use before I got used to the iPhone. Now I can’t live without it… a computer in your pocket! On another note, I also bought a MacBook to complement my iMac. Just get all three and be done with it — it’s only money!

    Ed

  3. Brent – yeah – I looked at the Verizon Blackberry Storm (in the store) and read reviews etc. but what’s annoying is that it will cost full retail cost – like $450; plus I’m still breaking the contract I think…

    The iPhone will end up costing about the same over the course of a year; but I think if I’m going to go that route with the phone, I’m going to opt for the iPhone; and yes, my neighbor has one and I’ve been able to play with it for a while… Much easier to use than what I’ve got now.

  4. I would not get the I Phone.
    Verizon has a device that is very similar by Blackberry called the Storm. I am contemplating buying one. Verizon is a better service than AT&T.
    The other option is a netbook computer. I recently bought the Asus. It is less than 2 pounds. Has 1 meg of memory, runs XP and has a 160 gig hard drive. It is also wifi capable. For the times when no wifi signal is available I subscribed to verizon’s wireless internet. The advantage is that it is a computer with a keyboard, although small. The I Phone and Blackberry is no substitute for a computer.

  5. You all may be right – i.e. that I need a laptop rather than the iPhone / Blackberry… I’ll think it over before I make a sudden move. I also need the thing to transfer files to etc. so yeah – I guess it’ll end up as a laptop. But it’s going to be a Mac because that’s the way I’m heading and I want to get used to it.

  6. Sounds like a Mac notebook is the way to go. As long as you can run Windows you can access all of the external drives.

  7. Some of these new netbooks are great for travel. I was looking real hard at the Acer Aspire One: $349 for 120 gig HD, and 1 gig of ram. You can buy them at Amazon with an option to order a 2 gig ram chip. They come with XP Home, which is a plus, rather than Vista.

    HP also makes a couple of netbooks called the mini. These little computers will cost you less than an I Phone or Blackberry Storm!

    These would be a great option for travel. They are very small. If you want to see one in person, Micro Centers carry them. Costco offers the Acer for $349 and one model of the HP for $449.

    While I was at Micro Center looking at them, a woman came up to me and started telling me about her Asus Eee PC that she bought on Amazon. She was emphatic about its capabilities. She has me looking at them now.

    http://www.amazon.com/1000HA-10-Inch-Netbook-Processor-Battery/dp/B001GIPSAC/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=pc&qid=1231102964&sr=1-1.

    Brent

  8. Apple’s MAcworld Expo is this week. Buy NOTHING until all announcements are made.

    “Verizon has a device that is very similar by Blackberry called the Storm”

    Not really. For one, the Storm has no Wifi. For another, gps apps cost $10/month with Verizon. The iPhone has over 10,000 apps (two-thirds of them free). It has a real iPod, and efortless syncs all your contacts and calendar items (Win or Mac). Verizon locks you into multimedia services, as opposed to the dozen or so free services available on the iPhone like Pandora.com.

    There’s a reason David Pogue called it the Blackberry Dud, you know.

    http://www.nytimes.com/2008/11/27/technology/personaltech/27pogue.html

  9. Agreed about the Storm. There’s something to be said for innovative soft- hard-ware (read Mac). I’ll prob. end up with a mac book – but NOT TO WORRY – I await the words of Macworld as if I were already a Mac-user. Nothing will be bought by me until announcements are written in stone.

  10. Sounds like a plan. I’m sure you will make the right choice for your application and work flow. Why? Because you are Dave Beckerman, master of photography and IT.

    Brent

  11. I have an iPhone and love it – the only thing I would caution you about is that ATT service is so far behind verizon. When I first switch I thought – well verizon is great but how bad could ATT be – well it’s pretty bad. I hit dead zones al over the place and I live in downtown Boston. My apartment that was perfect for verizon now has 3-4 dead spots where I am guaranteed to drop a call.

    But the phone is great – I love it.

    If you are looking at the storm you should read

    http://www.nytimes.com/2008/11/27/technology/personaltech/27pogue.html?_r=1

    he crucifies it. From other reviews I’ve read I’ve heard it should be avoided. Just my two cents.

  12. the iphone is simply awesome, the Blackberry Storm is a joke, but I would consider the Blackberry Bold for the keyboard and the nice design…

    Don’t even think about the Acer One netbook, I’ve had mine for about three months and have been nothing but disappointed. It looked good at first, but the computer is crippled and awfully slow, battery life sucks and I had to send it back to Acer due to a bad motherboard… when it came back from service, the fan wouldn’t go on and the laptop would shut down after a few seconds. fortunately I was able to fix this myself, but this computer is good only for light browsing and email (hence the term netbook).

    A MacBook should suit you nicely, you can hook it up to the big Dell screen and pack it with RAM (most of the MacBooks take more RAM than specified by Apple). The bottleneck would be the slower laptop hard drive in comparison to an iMac. Oh, and Lightroom is a dream to work with dual monitors!

Comments are closed.